Le Villaret
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Le Villaret
Saint-Maurice-de-Ventalon

Le Villaret

Architecture and village
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline

This short family walk overlooking the Luech gorge explores the Cevenol hamlets of Le Villaret and Le Massufret.


3 points of interest
History

Le Villaret mine

In around 1920, a baryte mine brought much-appreciated income to over 20 families. “Transport was by tractor carrying a crate that contained 2 tons of baryte and pulling a trailer that contained another four tons. That way, we transported 6 tons per trip to the train station at Génolhac, and, when all was going well, we did two trips per day, so a maximum of 500 tons a month” ( Aristide Vignes).

read more
Architecture

Le Massufret

This hamlet was once very lively, since there was a school for a dozen children before World War Two. “It was basically a farmers' village. They weren't really looking to make money but to survive, in the tradition of farmers in the Cevennes. They lived according to the season: in summer, they prepared for winter. Chestnuts and potatoes were the staple foods, and there was soup at every meal” (Mr Velay).

read more
History

Path history

A network of paths linked Le Massufret with the other hamlets in the municipality. A mule track lead from Montjoie to the Le Massufret (in Montjoie, you can see a circular platform, probably a vestige of an oppidum, a pre-Roman hill-fort). One path led through the valley to Soleyrols, another went to L'Aubaret on Mont Lozère or to Le Masmin, on the other side of the Ventalon ridge. At the time of the Camisards, after the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes (1685), Protestants chose to meet clandestinely, at night, in remote locations. Their gatherings had to kept secret from the authorities. Preachers replaced the exiled pastors and recited Biblical texts. Inhabitants from all four corners of the municipality held gatherings in Le Massufret near a rock below the apiary.

read more

Description

Take the path that goes downhill from the car park. After 50 m, take the path on the right. At a fork, take the track on the left and, some 20 m further, the path on the right. Two granite boulders open the path that goes downhill between birches in a north-easterly direction. Above the village, take the track leading to Le Massufret. The track overlooks the Luech gorge with its sides of sheer jagged rock. It joins up with the Massufret road amidst former meadows now invaded by young ash trees, growing straight and close together. The road goes past a covered fountain, through the hamlet of Le Massufret with its schist houses with granite lintels, and a few ruins. As you leave the hamlet, take the track that leads back to the Col de la Baraquette.

Departure : Col de la Baraquette pass
Arrival : Col de la Baraquette pass
Towns crossed : Saint-Maurice-de-Ventalon

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day's weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear good shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers after yourself. This trail is also suitable for mountain-bikes.

Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

Office de tourisme Des Cévennes au mont Lozère

le Quai, 48220 Le Pont de Montvert sud mont-Lozère

https://www.cevennes-montlozere.com/

info@cevennes-montlozere.com

04 66 45 81 94

Find out more

Access and parking

Col de la Baraquette. At Croix de Berthel, head towards Alès. After 3km, turn left.

Parking :

At the Col de la Baraquette

Source

CC des Cévennes au Mont Lozèrehttp://www.cevennes-mont-lozere.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Le Villaret
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Le Villaret
Saint-Maurice-de-Ventalon

Le Villaret

Architecture et village
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Ce petit sentier familial conduit le visiteur à la découverte de hameaux cévenols: le Villaret et le Massufret, tout en surplombant les gorges du Luech.

 


Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire

La Mine du Villaret

Vers 1920, l'exploitation d'une carrière de baryte apporta à plus d'une vingtaine de familles un revenu très apprécié. « Le transport se faisait avec un tracteur, chargé d'une caisse contenant 2 tonnes de baryte, et qui tirait une remorque en contenant 4 tonnes. Par ce moyen, nous transportions 6 tonnes par voyage à la gare de Génolhac et nous faisions, quand tout allait bien, 2 voyages par jour, donc au maximum 500 tonnes dans le mois » (Aristide Vignes).  

lire la suite
Architecture

Le Massufret

Ce hameau a été très animé puisque, avant la guerre, il y avait une école pouvant accueillir une douzaine d'enfants. « Il y avait une dizaine de familles. C'était un village de paysans essentiellement. Comme les paysans d'autrefois en Cévennes, ils ne cherchaient pas vraiment à gagner de l'argent, mais à survivre. Ils vivaient en fonction des saisons : à la belle saison, ils préparaient l'hiver. La châtaigne et la pomme de terre étaient la base de l'alimentation et à tous les repas on mangeait de la soupe » (Mr Velay).

lire la suite
Histoire

Histoire de Chemins

Un réseau de sentiers reliait le Massufret aux autres hameaux de la commune. Un chemin muletier menait de Montjoie au Massufret (à Montjoie on trouve une plateforme circulaire, vestige probable d'un ancien oppidum). Un chemin rejoignait Soleyrols par la vallée, un autre menait à l'Aubaret sur le mont Lozère, ou au Masmin de l'autre coté du Ventalon. À l'époque des Camisards, après la révocation de l'édit de Nantes (1685), les protestants choisirent de se réunir secrètement, la nuit, dans des endroits reculés. Leurs assemblées devaient se faire à l'insu des autorités. Des prédicants remplaçaient les pasteurs exilés et récitaient des textes bibliques. Venus des quatre coins de la commune, les habitants tenaient assemblée au Massufret près d'un rocher sous le rucher. 

lire la suite

Description

Suivre le chemin qui descend au départ du parking. 50 mètres plus loin, emprunter le chemin à droite, puis, à la fourche, la piste à gauche et une vingtaine de mètres plus loin, le sentier à droite. Deux grosses pierres de granit ouvrent le sentier qui descend au nord-est entre les bouleaux. Au dessus du village, prendre la piste qui mène au Massufret. La piste surplombe les gorges du Luech dominées par un abrupt de roches déchiquetées. Elle rejoint la route du Massufret dans d'anciens prés colonisés par des jeunes frênes droits et serrés. La route passe devant une fontaine couverte, traverse le hameau du Massufret avec ses maisons en schiste aux linteaux de granit, et ses quelques ruines. A la sortie du hameau, prendre la piste qui rejoint le col de la Baraquette.

Départ : Col de la Baraquette
Arrivée : Col de la Baraquette
Communes traversées : Saint-Maurice-de-Ventalon

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Refermez les clôtures et les portillons. Circuit praticable à VTT.

En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Des Cévennes au mont Lozère, Le Pont-de-Montvert

le Quai, 48220 Le Pont de Montvert sud mont-Lozère

https://www.cevennes-montlozere.com/

info@cevennes-montlozere.com

04 66 45 81 94

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)
En savoir plus

Transport

Aucun


Accès routiers et parkings

Col de la Baraquette. A la croix de Berthel, prendre la direction d'Alès. A 3km, embranchement à gauche. 

 

Stationnement :

Au col de la Baraquette

Accessibilité

Aucun


Source

CC des Cévennes au Mont Lozèrehttp://www.cevennes-mont-lozere.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :