Château de Montalet
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Château de Montalet
Molières-sur-Cèze

Château de Montalet

Architecture and village
History and culture
Water and geology
Embed this item to access it offline
This walk takes you from the banks of the Cèze to the ridges overlooking Molières as you admire the views of the castle.

3 points of interest

  • Water

    The Cèze

    A study carried out into the navigability of the Cèze by boat was a failure: the river’s flow is not regular enough. While its level is sometimes very low in summer due to drought, the Cèze can be dangerously unpredictable: it can reach exceptional heights in just a few hours. With its spring 25 km upstream in the Cévennes mountains, it receives all the surface runoff during storms, which considerably increases its flow.
  • History

    Montalet Castle

    This is one of the largest feudal castles in the Cévennes. Its purpose is believed to have been surveillance of the area located between the Régordane Way and access to the Ardèche valley. Its ramparts were originally flanked by seven towers. Its shape on the ground seems to represent a bird’s wing, perhaps as a reminder of the coat of arms of the Bérard de Montalet family. The castle seems to have been abandoned by the Bérard de Montalet as early as the 15th century. Since 1985, an association of volunteers has been working to restore it. A mediaeval day is organised in the first half of May.
  • Architecture

    A mining past

    The track going down to Molières is dotted with remnants from a flourishing mining past. In a large bend, you can spot a former slag heap now covered by pines. A little further, a sort of large keep reminds us that there is a mine shaft. Further still, you will see a footbridge that the miners used every day to get back to their homes, some of which were several kilometres away.

Description

Signposts will guide you all along this route. In the description below, the signposted place names and/or directions are given in bold italics between quotation marks:

Starting from "MOLIÈRES-SUR-CÈZE", head towards "CHATEAU DE MONTALET" via "Molières - La Borie" and "Les Bassins". Then walk towards "Le Petit Montèze" and "Mas Loubet" until you reach "Plateau du Mas Neuf", before going back down to "MOLIÈRES-SUR-CÈZE".

This hike is taken from the guidebook Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze, published by the Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes as part of the collection Espaces Naturels Gardois and the label Gard Pleine Nature.
  • Departure : Molières sur Cèze
  • Arrival : Molières sur Cèze
  • Towns crossed : Molières-sur-Cèze, Saint-Ambroix, and Saint-Jean-de-Valériscle

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.

Information desks

Tourism office CezeCévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.besseges@gmail.com04 66 25 08 60

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cèze-Cévennes Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.stambroix@gmail.com04 66 24 33 36

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Transport

Bus stop : René Hermitant
liO is the regional public transport service of the Occitanie/ Pyrénées – Méditerranée region. It facilitates everyone’s movements by prioritising public transport. For more information, call 08 10 33 42 73 or go to www.laregion.fr

Access and parking

From St-Ambroix, take the D 51 to La Croisée, and then the D 130 and D 244 to Molières-sur-Cèze.

Parking :

Market square

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Château de Montalet
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Château de Montalet
Molières-sur-Cèze

Château de Montalet

Architecture et village
Eau et géologie
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Promenade des rives de la Cèze aux crêtes surplombant Molières tout en admirant le point de vue du château.

Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir

  • Eau

    La Cèze

    Une étude fut faite pour la navigation de barques sur la Cèze. Ce fut un échec, le débit de la rivière n’étant pas régulier. Si son niveau est parfois très bas en été à cause de la sécheresse, la Cèze peut devenir dangereuse et atteindre en quelques heures des niveaux exceptionnels. Prenant sa source à environ 25 km en amont, dans les montagnes cévenoles, elle reçoit, lors de forts orages, toutes les eaux de ruissellement, qui augmentent considérablement son débit.
  • Histoire

    Château de Montalet

    Il est un des plus vastes châteaux féodaux des Cévennes. On suppose qu’il servait de lieu de surveillance entre le chemin de Régordane et l’accès à la vallée de l’Ardèche. Ses remparts étaient, à l’origine, flanqués de sept tours. La forme au sol semble représenter une aile d’oiseau, peut-être une évocation aux armoiries des Bérard de Montalet. Dès le XVe siècle, il semble avoir été abandonné par la famille Bérard de Montalet. Depuis 1985, une association de bénévoles travaille à la restauration du château. Durant la première quinzaine de mai est organisée une journée médiévale.

  • Architecture

    Un passé minier

    La piste descendant sur Molières est ponctuée de vestiges d’un passé minier florissant. Dans un grand tournant, découvrez un ancien crassier aujourd’hui colonisé par des pins. Un peu plus loin une sorte de grand donjon nous rappelle la présence d’un puits de mine. Encore un peu plus bas, une passerelle que les mineurs empruntaient quotidiennement pour rejoindre leur domicile situé parfois à plusieurs kilomètres de là.


Description

Le long de l'itinéraire, des poteaux directionnels vous guident. Les noms des lieux-dits et/ou des directions à suivre sont indiqué(e)s en italique gras et entre guillemets dans le descriptif ci-dessous:


Au départ de "MOLIÈRES-SUR-CÈZE", prendre la direction "CHATEAU DE MONTALET" par "Molières - La Borie" et "Les Bassins". Puis cheminer vers "Le Petit Montèze" et "Mas Loubet" jusqu’au "Plateau du Mas Neuf" avant de redescendre sur "MOLIÈRES-SUR-CÈZE".

Balade extraite du cartoguide Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze réalisé par la Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes dans le cadre de la Collection Espaces Naturels Gardois et du label Gard Pleine Nature.

  • Départ : Molières sur Cèze
  • Arrivée : Molières sur Cèze
  • Communes traversées : Molières-sur-Cèze, Saint-Ambroix et Saint-Jean-de-Valériscle

Météo


Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.

Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.besseges@gmail.com04 66 25 08 60

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.stambroix@gmail.com04 66 24 33 36

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Transport

Arrêt de bus : René Hermitant
liO est le Service Public Occitanie Transports de la Région Occitanie/ Pyrénées - Méditerranée. Il permet à chacun de se déplacer facilement en privilégiant les transports en commun. Pour tout savoir, contacter le 08 10 33 42 73 ou se rendre sur www.laregion.fr

Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis Saint-Ambroix, à La Croisée, prendre la D51, puis la D 130 et Molières-Sur-Cèze par la D 244

Stationnement :

Place du marché

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :