Les dolmens de l’Ismaël
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Les dolmens de l’Ismaël
Courry

Les dolmens de l’Ismaël

Architecture and village
Fauna and flora
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline
Discover a necropolis, then climb to Saint-Sebastian’s Chapel for a beautiful view.

3 points of interest

  • History

    Courry

    It is difficult to tell the history of Courry at the time of the Camisard War, the archives having been destroyed in a fire in 1973. However, oral tradition includes an anecdote that made Courry famous in the late 18th century. Abbot Murjas brought back from Italy an infallible recipe for an omelette that cured rabies. Once the omelette had gained a reputation for efficacy, people came from very far away to eat it. It was extremely salty, and its secret was the three herbs it contained. But the remedy was only effective on one condition: to drink nothing for the three following days! This was very hard in Courry, where the weather is so hot that people say that “even snakes die of thirst”!
  • History

    St Sebastian’s Chapel

    There is still a yearly pilgrimage to St-Sebastian’s Chapel, up the slope with its southern summer scents. The pilgrims do not come to ring the bells – which is reputed to make rain fall on this thirsty stony land – but to worship and bless the children.

    The village escaped a powerful wave of the plague in 1720, which ravaged surrounding valleys. In 1722 the chapel was built on this promontory to thank God for His protection. Each year, the second Monday of September was dedicated to the pilgrimage. It has since been moved forward to the last Monday in August so as to take place during the school holidays. 
  • Flora

    Cade (prickly juniper)

    Juniper is a typical garrigue (arid shrubland) species which was used for centuries to produce oil by distilling its heartwood. Cade oil can treat dermatoses, kill parasites, heal sheep’s wounds and keep away flies. The cade oil producer would arrive in an area suggested by its owner and there build his own drystone hut (a capitelle) and oven. This oven demanded substantial know-how. Made of firebricks mortared with beaten clay, it had a vase shape about 1 ½ m high and was open at the top so that juniper branches could be thrown in. The distilled wood could be removed through a door at the bottom. The oil ran out from under the door. About 50 cm from this vase, the oilmaker would build a drystone wall, the circular space inside it being the hearth. The whole construction would then be covered in soil to make it airtight: a molehill with a diameter of 6 m!

Description

Signposts will guide you all along this route. In the description below, the signposted place names and/or directions are given in bold italics between quotation marks:
Starting at "COURRY", follow "PIERRE MORTE" via "Croix de Parens", "La Courpatière", "Les Cayrades", "L’Aulanet", "Les Rivières", "Les Thomases" and "Le Pouchanne". Then head for "CHAPELLE ST-SÉBASTIEN" and "Plateau St-Sébastien". Go back down towards "COURRY" via "La Tourre", "Les Plannes" and "Les Chênes" to reach "DOLMENS DE L’ISMAËL". Continue to "Les Mijoulets", "Les Usclades", from where you can do a short return trip to the educational dolmen, then take "Chemin de la Transhumance" and return to "COURRY" via "Croix de Parens".

This hike is taken from the guidebook Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze, published by the Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes as part of the collection Espaces Naturels Gardois and the label Gard Pleine Nature.
  • Departure : Courry
  • Arrival : Courry
  • Towns crossed : Courry, Gagnières, and Saint-Paul-le-Jeune

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.

Information desks

Tourism office CezeCévennes, Bessèges

14 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.besseges@gmail.com04 66 25 08 60

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cèze-Cévennes Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.stambroix@gmail.com04 66 24 33 36

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Transport

Bus stop: Close to La croix de Parens
liO is the regional public transport service of the Occitanie/ Pyrénées – Méditerranée region. It facilitates everyone’s movements by prioritising public transport. For more information, call 08 10 33 42 73 or go to www.laregion.fr

Access and parking

From St-Ambroix, take the D 904 past St-Brès, then the D 304 to Courry.

Parking :

Mairie (town hall)

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Les dolmens de l’Ismaël
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Les dolmens de l’Ismaël
Courry

Les dolmens de l’Ismaël

Architecture et village
Faune et flore
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
La découverte d’une nécropole puis une montée à la chapelle Saint-Sébastien pour apprécier un beau point de vue.

Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir

  • Histoire

    Courry

    Les archives ayant disparu dans un incendie en 1973, il est difficile de conter l'histoire de Courry, au début de la guerre des camisards. La tradition orale rapporte cependant une anecdote qui rendit Courry célèbre à la fin du XVIIIième siècle. L'abbé Murjas rapporta d'Italie, la recette infaillible d'une omelette à guérir de la rage. Celle-ci étant réputée efficace, les gens faisaient parfois un long voyage pour venir la consommer. Elle était extrêmement salée et son secret tenait aux trois herbes différentes qui la composaient. Mais le remède était efficace à une seule condition: ne pas boire pendant les trois jours suivants ! C'était d'autant plus dur à Courry qu'il y fait si chaud que paraît-il, "même les serpents y meurent de soif"!

  • Histoire

    Chapelle Saint-Sébastien

    Un pèlerinage existe encore en été qui fait l'ascension de la colline dans les senteurs du sud, vers la chapelle Saint Sébastien. Ce n'est pas pour y faire sonner ses cloches, qui ont le pouvoir de faire tomber la pluie sur ce pays de pierre et de soif, mais pour perpétuer un culte et bénir les enfants.
    1722: le village venait d'échapper à la redoutable peste de 1720 qui fit des ravages dans les vallées voisines. C'est pour remercier le ciel de cette protection que la chapelle fut bâtie sur ce promontoire. Chaque année, le deuxième lundi de septembre était consacré à ce pèlerinage. Depuis, il a été avancé au dernier lundi d'août pour cause de ... rentrée scolaire.

  • Flore

    Le cade

    Espèce typique des garrigues, le cade (genévrier oxycèdre) fut pendant des siècles exploité pour distiller le cœur de son bois et en tirer de l'huile, utilisée pour soigner les dermatoses, les parasites, les plaies des moutons ou pour éloigner les mouches. Le fabricant d'huile de cade,  arrivant dans un secteur proposé par un propriétaire, construisait sa cabane en pierre sèche (capitelle) et son four. Le four fait appel à tout un savoir-faire: avec des briques réfractaires liées par de l'argile battue, il montait en "jarre" d'environ 1,5 km de haut, ouverte en haut pour y jeter les branches de cade et s'ouvrant par une porte en bas pour retirer les bois distillés. L'huile coulait sous cette porte. À 50 cm en périphérie de cette jarre, il construisait un mur en pierre sèche, cet espace circulaire était le foyer. L'ensemble était ensuite recouvert de terre pour assurer l'étanchéité à l'air, une taupinière de 6 m de diamètre !

Description

Le long de l'itinéraire, des poteaux directionnels vous guident. Les noms des lieux-dits et/ou des directions à suivre sont indiqué(e)s en italique gras et entre guillemets dans le descriptif ci-dessous:

Départ "COURRY" et suivre direction "PIERRE MORTE" par "Croix de Parens", "La Courpatière", "Les Cayrades", "L’Aulanet", "Les Rivières", "Les Thomases" et "Le Pouchanne". Puis rejoindre "CHAPELLE ST-SÉBASTIEN" par "Plateau St-Sébastien". Redescendre vers "COURRY" par "La Tourre", "Les Plannes" et "Les Chênes" pour atteindre "DOLMENS DE L’ISMAËL". Poursuivre sur "Les Mijoulets", "Les Usclades", d’où on peut faire un petit A/R au dolmen pédagogique, puis "Chemin de la Transhumance" et retour à "COURRY" par "Croix de Parens".

Balade extraite du cartoguide Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze réalisé par la Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes dans le cadre de la Collection Espaces Naturels Gardois et du label Gard Pleine Nature.

  • Départ : Courry
  • Arrivée : Courry
  • Communes traversées : Courry, Gagnières et Saint-Paul-le-Jeune

Météo


Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.

Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.besseges@gmail.com04 66 25 08 60

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.stambroix@gmail.com04 66 24 33 36

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Transport

Arrêt: Proche de la croix de Parens
liO est le Service Public Occitanie Transports de la Région Occitanie/ Pyrénées - Méditerranée. Il permet à chacun de se déplacer facilement en privilégiant les transports en commun. Pour tout savoir, contacter le 08 10 33 42 73 ou se rendre sur www.laregion.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis St-Ambroix, St-Brès par le D 904, puis la D 304, Courry

Stationnement :

Mairie

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :