Le Ronc rouge
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Le Ronc rouge
Bessèges

Le Ronc rouge

Architecture and village
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline
This walk is on a section of the GR® 44B long-distance path and explores caves, a chapel and pretty views.

2 points of interest

  • History

    Saint Lawrence’s chapel

    Every year on 10 August, pilgrims come to thank St Lawrence, once reputed to cure oral diseases. Detailed archaeological study would be necessary to elucidate the mystery of this chapel. A priory belonging to the Abbey of Saint-Andéol-de-Robiac, located in the village, is believed to have stood on the chapel site. The Romanesque chapel, of which only a few traces remain, was probably built between the 11th and 13th centuries. The various types of stone-setting show that, since then, it has been reworked many times, although we do not know when exactly. St-Lawrence’s chapel was stripped of its bell, which is now on the rocky spur that overlooks it.
  • History

    Slag heaps

    These heaps are made up of the waste from coal mining. In mining days, the slopes were black and several dozen metres high. Today adapted vegetation covers them, allowing them to blend into the landscape. The slag heap concerned has recently been flattened and used to backfill the track. It is no longer covered by vegetation.

Description

Signposts will guide you all along this route. In the description below, the signposted place names and/or directions are given in bold italics between quotation marks:

Starting from "BESSÈGES", head towards "ROCHESSADOULE" via "Bessèges-pont", "La Cantonnade" and "Les Traverses Hautes". From here, you can make a detour to "Les Traverses" to see a cave that contains a petrified tree. Continue to "Plaine de l’Homme Mort", "La Pinède" and "La Rompude" to see the chapel, bell and viewpoint, requiring a short return trip to the chapel. Continue to "Patte d’Oie du Ronc Rouge" and take the fork towards "Conrocs". The return to "BESSÈGES" goes via"Le Baldy", "Le Grand Baldy", "Les Taillades", "Le Crassier", "La Cantonnade" and "Bessèges-pont".

This hike is taken from the guidebook Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze, published by the Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes as part of the collection Espaces Naturels Gardois and the label Gard Pleine Nature.
  • Departure : Bessèges: opposite the church
  • Arrival : Bessèges: opposite the church
  • Towns crossed : Bessèges and Robiac-Rochessadoule

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.

Information desks

Tourism office CezeCévennes, Bessèges

14 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.besseges@gmail.com04 66 25 08 60

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cèze-Cévennes Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/ot.stambroix@gmail.com04 66 24 33 36

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Transport

Bus stop: Mairie
liO is the regional public transport service of the Occitanie/ Pyrénées – Méditerranée region. It facilitates everyone’s movements by prioritising public transport. For more information, call 08 10 33 42 73 or go to www.laregion.fr

Access and parking

From Saint Ambroix take the D 51 towards Bessèges

Parking :

Car park near the church

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Le Ronc rouge
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Le Ronc rouge
Bessèges

Le Ronc rouge

Architecture et village
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Une promenade empruntant une partie du GR® 44B pour découvrir grottes, chapelle et beaux points de vue.

Les 2 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire

La chapelle Saint-Laurent

Le dix août de chaque année, quelques pèlerins viennent remercier Saint Laurent, jadis réputé pour guérir les maladies de la bouche. Une étude archéologique approfondie serait nécessaire pour comprendre les mystères de cette chapelle. On suppose qu’à l’emplacement actuel il y avait un prieuré rattaché à l’abbaye Saint Andéol de Robiac située dans le village. La chapelle romane, dont il ne reste que quelques traces, fut construite sans doute entre le XIe et XIIIe siècle. Depuis, les différents appareillages de pierre nous montrent qu’elle a subi de nombreux remaniements dont on ne connaît pas les dates. La chapelle Saint Laurent a été dépouillée de sa cloche qui se trouve maintenant sur le piton rocheux qui la domine.
lire la suite
Histoire

Les terrils

Ce sont des amas constitués des déchets de l’extraction du charbon. Collines noires de plusieurs dizaines de mètres au temps des mines, ils se sont recouverts, aujourd’hui, d’une végétation spécifique qui leur permet de se fondre dans le paysage. Celui dont il est question ici vient d’être aplani et a servi pour remblayer la piste. Il ne comporte plus de végétation.
lire la suite

Description

Le long de l'itinéraire, des poteaux directionnels vous guident. Les noms des lieux-dits et/ou des directions à suivre sont indiqué(e)s en italique gras et entre guillemets dans le descriptif ci-dessous:

Départ "BESSÈGES", direction "ROCHESSADOULE" par "Bessèges-pont", "La Cantonnade" et "Les Traverses Hautes". De là, un A/R jusqu’à "Les Traverses" pour voir une grotte qui renferme un arbre pétrifié. Poursuivre sur "Plaine de l’Homme Mort", "La Pinède" et "La Rompude" et découvrir chapelle, cloche et point de vue, par un petit A/R jusque la "CHAPELLE ST-LAURENT". Poursuivre sur "Patte d’Oie du Ronc Rouge" pour bifurquer en direction de "Conrocs". Le retour sur "BESSÈGES" passe par "Le Baldy", "Le Grand Baldy", "Les Taillades", "Le Crassier", "La Cantonnade" et "Bessèges-pont".

Balade extraite du cartoguide Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze réalisé par la Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes dans le cadre de la Collection Espaces Naturels Gardois et du label Gard Pleine Nature.

Départ : Besseges, face à l'église
Arrivée : Besseges, face à l'église
Communes traversées : Bessèges, Robiac-Rochessadoule

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.

Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

besseges.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 25 08 60

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

stambroix.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 24 33 36

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Transport

Arrêt de bus à la mairie.
liO est le Service Public Occitanie Transports de la Région Occitanie/ Pyrénées - Méditerranée. Il permet à chacun de se déplacer facilement en privilégiant les transports en commun. Pour tout savoir, contacter le 08 10 33 42 73 ou se rendre sur www.laregion.fr

Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis ST-Ambroix, direction Bessèges par la D 51

Stationnement :

Parking à proximité de l'église

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :