Sauveterre
Gorges du Tarn Causses

Sauveterre

Agriculture and livestock farming
Architecture and village
Fauna and flora
History and culture
Water and geology
Embed this item to access it offline
Here, humans have made tracks for millennia. Enjoy the tranquillity of the Causse de Sauveterre on this short walk between the low walls bordering the paths and the treeless expanses. 

3 points of interest

  • Geology

    A hamlet on a former volcano

    The hamlet was built on the remains of a former volcano, which has been worn down by erosion. Sauveterre lies on part of the large volcanic chain of the Languedoc. The depression under the hamlet has particularly fertile soil. It has been put to good agricultural use for a long time. Today, 3 GAEC (jointly run farms) share the land around the village. Sheep breeding (for milk or meat) dominates. Flocks are 500 to 700 heads in size.
  • History

    Sauveterre

    Built on a volcanic hillock, Sauveterre hamlet sits at the crossroads of several historic routes. Here, the grande draille (main drovers’ road), a transhumance route linking the garrigues or arid shrubland of Languedoc with the summer pastures of the Aubrac plateau, crosses an ancient track linking the Vivarais with Lower Gévaudan and the Rouergue (today’s GR44 hiking path). In the 12th century, the Prior of Sainte Enimie, the local lord, declared the hamlet a salvetat. A salvetat was an area protected by God’s Peace, meaning that all violence was forbidden within its perimeter, delineated by markers. It was a place of refuge for fugitive serfs, peasants with debts, offenders or petty criminals, under the protection of the Church. After one year, they were absolved on condition of settling here, and were give some land to cultivate. This policy rehabilitated uncultivated or abandoned parcels of land. Some dwellings were built near a source of water, then a little fort to protect the travellers and a chapel dedicated to St Ferréol (Ferreolus): from 1250 onwards, Sauveterre slowly came into being. 
  • Flora

    Vast open spaces

    Generally speaking, Causse soils do not retain water (except in the rare clay areas), which favours a spontaneously xerophile flora, meaning that it is resistant to drought. The Causse economy is essentially pastoral and has created a whole range of open spaces – from crops to pastureland to sheep enclosures – as well as wooded zones, which encourages wild flora. The vast grasslands around you show their colours in the summer months with a wealth of flowers. For those interested in botany, every step is a marvel in spring!

Description

Starting on the village’s main square (bread oven), pass to the left of the bread oven and take the road that runs in front of the cross and below the farm buildings.
  1. Leave the road and take the path on your left for 1.2 km.
  2.  Turn left onto the path that goes downhill and around the depression (sinkhole).
  3. As you arrive at the tarred surface, take the road on your left that goes up into the village and back to your starting-point. 
  • Departure : Sauveterre village
  • Arrival : Sauveterre village
  • Towns crossed : Gorges du Tarn Causses

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Recommandations

There is no shade on this walk. Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.

Information desks

Tourism'house and national Parc at Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.cominfo@cevennes-parcnational.fr04 66 45 01 14

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

On site:  exhibitions, video projections, events and shop Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cévennes Gorges du Tarn, Sainte-Enimie

village, 48210 Sainte-Enimie

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com/info@attractivite-tourisme-gcc.com04 66 45 01 14

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

Find out more

Access and parking

From Ste-Énimie on the D 986 towards Mende.

Parking :

Large car park on the village square.

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Sauveterre
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Sauveterre
Sainte-Enimie

Sauveterre

Agriculture et élevage
Architecture et village
Eau et géologie
Faune et flore
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Ici l’homme a tracé les chemins depuis des millénaires. Une vraie découverte cette petite balade sur le causse de Sauveterre. Un sentiment paisible devant les étendues nues de cette partie du plateau et les nombreux murets qui bordent les sentiers.

Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir
Géologie

Village sur un ancien volcan

Le village est installé sur les restes d’un ancien volcan dégradé par l’érosion. Sauveterre se trouve sur la grande chaîne volcanique du Languedoc. La dépression qui se trouve sous le village constitue des terres particulièrement fertiles. Sa mise en valeur agricole est ancienne. Aujourd’hui, 3 GAEC (groupement agricole d’exploitation en commun) se partagent les terres autour du village. L’élevage ovin prédomine, en lait ou viande. Ici les troupeaux comptent de 500 à 700 têtes.
lire la suite
Histoire

Sauveterre

Assis sur un mamelon volcanique, le hameau de Sauveterre est établi au carrefour de plusieurs itinéraires historiques. La «grande draille », chemin de transhumance raccordant les garrigues du Languedoc au plateau d’Aubrac croise ici une voie antique reliant le Vivarais au Bas-Gévaudan et au Rouergue (actuel GR44). Dès le XII° siècle, le prieuré de Sainte Enimie, seigneur du lieu en fit une « salvetat ». Protégé par la « Paix de Dieu » interdisant toute intervention violente, ce périmètre matérialisé par des bornes, offrait un espace de refuge où serfs fugitifs, paysans endettés, auteurs d’infractions ou petits délinquants pouvaient se mettre à l’abri des poursuites sous la sauvegarde de l’Eglise. Au bout d’un an, à condition de s’installer sur place, ils étaient absous et recevaient un lot de terres à cultiver. Cette politique permit de mettre en valeur des terroirs incultes ou désertés. Quelques habitations à proximité d’un point d’eau, puis un petit fort pour protéger les voyageurs et une chapelle dédiée à St Ferréol, sont construites progressivement. Ainsi, Sauveterre se constitue peu à peu à partir de 1250.(Texte Philippe Chambon)
lire la suite
Flore

Les grandes étendues

De manière générale, les sols des causses, hormis les rares sols argileux, ne retiennent pas l’eau ce qui favorise une flore spontanée xérophile, c’est-à-dire résistante à la sécheresse. L’économie des causses, essentiellement pastorale, a créé toute une gamme de milieux ouverts, allant des cultures aux parcours à moutons, en passant par des zones boisées, favorables à l’expression d’une flore sauvage. Autour de vous, ces vastes formations herbeuses à dominante de graminées, s’égaient à la belle saison par un riche cortège de fleurs. Pour qui s’intéresse à la flore, au printemps chaque pas est un émerveillement !
lire la suite

Description

Départ depuis la place principale du village (square, four à pain), passer à gauche du four à pain et prendre la route qui passe devant la croix et sous les bâtiments agricoles.
1- Quitter la route et prendre à gauche le chemin sur 1, 2 km.
2- Prendre à gauche le chemin qui descend et contourne la dépression (doline).
3- En arrivant au goudron, prendre à gauche la rue qui monte dans le village pour revenir au départ.
Départ : Village de Sauveterre
Arrivée : Village de Sauveterre
Communes traversées : Sainte-Enimie

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Sentier pas du tout ombragé. Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.

Lieux de renseignement

Maison du tourisme et du Parc national, Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

info@cevennes-parcnational.fr

04 66 45 01 14

La Maison du tourisme et du Parc national des Cévennes est installée dans le bâtiment renové de l'ancienne gare en bordure de la N106. C'est un espace , d’accueil, d'information et de sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte du territoire, ainsi que sur les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc, mutualisé entre les équipes de l'office de tourisme et du Parc.
Une expo interactive présente le Parc national des Cévennes et ses actions. 

Sur place :  Une boutique, librairie découverte et  produits siglés PNC.
Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner sur les jours et horaires en saison hivernale).
En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cévennes Gorges du Tarn, Sainte-Enimie

village, 48210 Sainte-Enimie

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com/

contact@cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

04 66 45 01 14

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année, de novembre à fin-mars, accueil les lundi, mercredi et vendredi

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis Sainte-Enimie D 986, direction Mende.

Stationnement :

Grand parking sur la place du village.

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :