Le Montgrillet
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Le Montgrillet
Meyrannes

Le Montgrillet

Architecture and village
Fauna and flora
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline

A walk “by stone and wood”, through time, past ancient vestiges and ancestral know-how.

This former botanical path showcases an abundance of flora. You'll discover plants and trees that are typical for the southern Cévennes. It also bears witness to much human activity, with its limestone huts, its dry-stone crop terraces, country kiln, small stone shelters and Romanesque church.


3 points of interest
Agriculture

Le Montgrillet

Le Montgrillet is the hillock above the village. The population of Meyrannes used to be overwhelmingly farmers, who lived on what they grew. Le Montgrillet is exposed to the sun and close to the village, and was the ideal spot for farming. Evidence for this can be seen all along the path. The grove of olive trees above the path indicates one of the crops once grown in Meyrannes, along with grapes and mulberry trees (for leaves to feed to silkworms). (B. Mathieu)  

read more
Know-how

The lime kiln

The limestone quarry was used to supply the lime-making kiln. Lime was much used in the countryside for improving soil, whitewashing walls and binding stones. In the lime-kiln, layers of coal alternated with limestone. Firing, which took more than 3 days, transformed the rock into lime. The kiln was constructed near the Montagnac river, the water being used to extinguish the quicklime. In use from 1853 on, the kiln has been disused for several years. (B. Mathieu)

read more
Architecture

Dry-stone hut

This structure was built using dry-stoning techniques (i.e. without binder) and was once used by the farmer to store his harvest, tidy away his tools or take shelter when a storm about to burst did not leave him enough time to return home. The builder chose to make his hut back onto a terrace, so as to economise on one wall and save space. On this sloping land, efficiency is of the essence: the farmer has to make the most of every cultivatable square metre. Terrace walls built from stones serve to create horizontal plots, remove stones from the land and prevent erosion. (B. Mathieu)

read more

Description

Go uphill on the road and past Meyrannes school. At the bridge over Montagnac gully, continue straight ahead, then fork right. A path starts between the houses at the top of the village. A steep path leads you quickly to Montgrillet, which it enters through an olive grove. Go past the disused quarry above a large lime-kiln. Your footpath climbs on the right to a  dry-stone hut. Continue going uphill to Montgrillet on the same path between two walls, which cuts through an oak grove. Turn left towards La Font-de-Bourboul on a path that is paved to begin with. Retrace your steps, walk alongside the Bourboul brook and then climb the wooden steps. Go uphill and turn right onto your original outbound path.

Departure : Meyrannes
Arrival : Meyrannes
Towns crossed : Meyrannes, Saint-Brès

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day's weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear good shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers after yourself.


Information desks

Tourism office CezeCévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

besseges.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 25 08 60

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cèze-Cévennes Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

stambroix.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 24 33 36

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.
Open year-round

Find out more

Access and parking

Via Alès towards St-Ambroix on the D 904, and then, as you leave St-Ambroix, towards Meyrannes on the D 51

Parking :

Meyrannes town hall (mairie)

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Le Montgrillet
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Le Montgrillet
Meyrannes

Le Montgrillet

Architecture et village
Faune et flore
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Une balade « de pierre et de bois », dans le temps, à la rencontre de vestiges et de savoir-faire anciens.

Ce parcours guidé raconte l’histoire de l’homme et de la terre ainsi que l’évolution d’un paysage. De génération en génération, des hommes et des femmes ont agencé, exploité cette colline. En cheminant entre garrigue et châtaigneraies, vous découvrirez de nombreux témoignages du patrimoine bâti en pierre sèche : faïsses, abri, mazet, capitelle et voie caladée.


Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir
Agriculture

Le Montgrillet

Le Montgrillet est le mamelon situé au-dessus du village. Autrefois, Meyrannes était un village dont la population, en grande majorité paysanne, vivait des fruits de la terre. Le Montgrillet, bien exposé, près du petit bourg, était l'endroit idéal pour des activités agricoles dont existent encore des témoignages tout au long du parcours. L'oliveraie au dessus du sentier faisait partie des cultures que l'on pratiquait à Meyrannes avec la vigne et le mûrier pour l'élevage des vers à soie... (B. Mathieu)

lire la suite
Savoir-faire

Le four à chaux

La carrière de pierre calcaire servait à approvisionner le four pour la fabrication de la chaux. La chaux était très utile dans le milieu rural pour amender le sol, blanchir les murs et lier les pierres. Dans le four à chaux, des couches de charbon alternent avec des pierres à chaux. La cuisson, qui dure plus de 3 jours, transforme la roche en chaux. Le four a été bâti près du ruisseau de Montagnac, l'eau servant à éteindre la chaux vive. En service dès 1853, il a été abandonné depuis plusieurs années. (B. Mathieu)

lire la suite
Architecture

La capitelle

Construite en pierre sèche, c'est-à-dire sans liant, cette construction servait jadis au paysan pour stocker sa récolte, ranger quelques outils ou s'abriter lorsque l'orage menaçant ne lui laissait pas le temps de retourner chez lui. Le bâtisseur a choisi d'accoler la capitelle à une terrasse afin d'économiser un muret et de la place. Dans ces terrains en pente l'économie est de rigueur, chaque mètre carré cultivable est utilisé au mieux. Les murs de terrasse en pierre servent à la fois à avoir des parcelles horizontales, à épierrer le terrain et à prévenir l'érosion. (B. Mathieu)

lire la suite

Description

Le long de l'itinéraire, des poteaux directionnels vous guident. Les noms des lieux-dits et/ou des directions à suivre sont indiqué(e)s en italique gras et entre guillemets dans le descriptif ci-dessous:

Départ de "Meyrannes", suivre le direction "La Font de Bourboul" par "Meyrannes-le-Royal", "Les Faysses", "La Vigna Del Bos", "Les Calades" et "Le ruisseau de La Font de Bourboul". Un A/R jusqu'à la fontaine, puis retour à "Meyrannes" par "Le ruisseau de La Font de Bourboul", "Les Faysses" et "Meyrannes-Le Royal".

Balade extraite du cartoguide Cévennes Haute Vallée de la Cèze réalisé par la Communauté de communes Cèze Cévennes dans le cadre de la Collection Espaces Naturels Gardois et du label Gard Pleine Nature.

Départ : Meyrannes
Arrivée : Meyrannes
Communes traversées : Meyrannes, Saint-Brès

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Refermez les clôtures et les portillons.


Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Bessèges

50 rue de la République, 30160 Bessèges

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

besseges.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 25 08 60

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cèze-Cévennes, Saint-Ambroix

Place de l'ancien Temple, 30500 Saint-Ambroix

https://www.tourisme-ceze-cevennes.com/

stambroix.otc-ceze-cevennes@orange.fr

04 66 24 33 36

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner pour les jours et horaires d'ouverture en période hivernale)

En savoir plus

Transport

liO est le Service Public Occitanie Transports de la Région Occitanie/ Pyrénées - Méditerranée. Il permet à chacun de se déplacer facilement en privilégiant les transports en commun. Pour tout savoir, contacter le 08 10 33 42 73 ou se rendre sur www.laregion.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

Par Alès direction St-Ambroix par la D 904, puis à la sortie de St-Ambroix direction Meyrannes par la D 51

Stationnement :

Mairie de Meyrannes

Source

Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :