Puecheral
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Puecheral
Florac

Puecheral

Agriculture and livestock farming
Architecture and village
Fauna and flora
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline

Walk a part of the draille de la Margeride (drovers’ road), in the footsteps of the shepherds who used it to move their flocks from the plains to the high pastures of Lozère.


6 points of interest
History

Transhumant history

“I moved my sheep to summer pastures all the way in the Margeride. I'm from up there myself. When I was a kid, there were many of us in the family, and whenever we saw a transhumant [seasonally migrating] shepherd pass by, my dad would say: one day you'll have to go off with a shepherd... I left and became a transhumant shepherd. My first stopover was Bonperrier. Then we'd eat at L'Hospitalet, and go down to Florac for the night. I moved pastures with 4,000 sheep.”

read more
Pastoralism

The draille de la Margeride

The ascent to Issenges is on the draille de la Margeride. A draille is a path used by herds of goats during the transhumance: moving up to the mountain pastures in June and coming back down again in September.

read more
Architecture

The Manoir d'Issenges

This fortified house, built from 1624 onwards, is an example of a type of rural seigneurial estate inherited from the Middle Ages. The complex consists of three buildings: the main building with its almost square ground plan, and two long and low wings of farm buildings, which together enclose a courtyard open to the gardens to the east. The entrance is via an archway located at the southern corner of the main building. This building must have had four corner turrets, a projecting tower in the centre that contained the spiral staircase, and an entrance topped by a pediment. This fortified look was reinforced by musket slits and a parapet, or at least a brattice over the entrance gates. The turrets have been demolished and the central tower reduced in height. The mullioned windows have been preserved. A stone shows the date of 1624.

read more
Flora

The sweet-chestnut grove

The chestnut grove borders the former track from Chadenet to Bédouès. Many other species (oak, ash, hazelnut) have settled in this grove since it stopped being exploited 50 years ago. “Towards Chadenet, trees were cut for the tannins, they were cut before the Great War. My father worked there, bringing the trees down the mountain with oxen. There were four or five of them, each with his pair of oxen, and they brought it all down by the track all the way to Pontèze.”

read more
Agriculture

The Gautier goat farm

Yolande and Christian run a small farm where they make farmhouse goat's cheese, a typically  Cévenol product. Their herd consists of 60 Alpine dairy goats, and all their milk is processed on-site into farmhouse cheese. From late November to late April, the nanny goats have a break so their little ones can feed!

read more
History

Château d’Arigès

This can be seen on your left, in a gap in the forest. It was only a share-cropping farm, whose buildings were in ruins, when the Lord of Issenges bought it in 1658. He lived in it from 1688. This Château, which is no doubt more comfortable than the « maison carrée » (“square house”), was built in a river bend of the Tarn and is surrounded by fertile soils well-suited for crop-growing.

read more

Description

Start above the holiday village “Le Pont du Tarn” (in the Azinières part of Florac) or on the square by the village hall in Bédouès (take the D998 towards Florac, at the crossing turn right towards La Baume, and then turn left at the metal bridge, to pick up the signposted walk). From the car park above the holiday village, join the road (Chemin d’Yssenges) and go uphill to a track. Your path follows the main track, but cuts off one of its hairpin bends. At the next crossing, take the track on the right. At the Col d’Issenges pass, go downhill on the main track on the right, then take a small path on the left to reach Chadenet. In Chadenet, go downhill on the small lane and take the path on the right. During the descent, you leave this to take a small steep path. At its bottom, turn right onto a road that crosses the campsite and continue on the path above the Tarn. If you started at Bédouès, turn left at the metal bridge to cross it, then left again to reach the car park by Bédouès village hall. If not, to get back to the holiday village, continue straight ahead on the road and then on the path to Azinières. Take the road opposite to reach “Le Pont du Tarn”.

Departure : Either at the Pont du Tarn holiday village or in Bédouès
Arrival : Either at the Pont du Tarn holiday village or in Bédouès
Towns crossed : Florac, Bédouès, Les Bondons, Cocurès

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day's weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear good shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers after yourself.


Information desks

Tourism'house and national Parc at Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

info@cevennes-parcnational.fr

04 66 45 01 14

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

On site:  exhibitions, video projections, events and shop Open year-round

Find out more

Access and parking

From Florac, take the D 998 road, direction Bédouès

Parking :

car park at the village hall (salle des fêtes) in Bédouès

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Puecheral
Florac

Puecheral

Agriculture et élevage
Architecture et village
Faune et flore
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion

Sur les traces des bergers, empruntez en partie la draille de la Margeride qui conduisait les troupeaux des plaines vers les hauts pâturages de Lozère.


Les 6 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire

Histoire d'un transhumant

"Je transhumais jusqu'en Margeride. Moi, je suis de là-haut. Quand j'étais gosse, on était nombreux dans la famille et quand on voyait passer un transhumant, mon père me disait: un jour, il faudra que tu partes avec un berger.... Je suis parti et je suis devenu transhumant. La première étape c'était Bonperrier. Après on mangeait à l'Hospitalet et on descendait faire étape à Florac. Je montais avec 4 000 bêtes".

lire la suite
Pastoralisme

La draille de la Margeride

La montée vers Issenges emprunte la draille de la Margeride. Une draille est un chemin emprunté par les troupeaux ovins pour la transhumance : montée vers les hauts pâturages en juin et redescente début septembre.

lire la suite
Architecture

Le manoir d'Issenges

Construit à partir de 1624, cette maison forte illustre un type de domaine rural seigneurial hérité du Moyen Age. L'ensemble est constitué de trois corps de bâtiments : le corps principal de plan presque carré et deux ailes longues et basses de communs qui enserrent une cour close, ouverte vers l'est sur le jardin. L'entrée s'effectue par un porche voûté, situé à l'angle sud du corps principal. Ce dernier devait présenter quatre échauguettes d'angle, une tour hors-œuvre au centre contenant l'escalier à vis et une entrée couronnée d'un fronton. Cet aspect fortifié était renforcé par les bouches à feu et un chemin de ronde ou, du moins, une bretèche au-dessus de la porte d'entrée. Il n'en reste aujourd'hui qu'un corbeau. Les échauguettes ont été démolies et la tour centrale rabaissée. Les fenêtres à meneaux ont été conservées. Une pierre porte la date de 1624.

lire la suite
Flore

La châtaigneraie

La châtaigneraie borde l’ancien chemin de Chadenet à Bédouès. De nombreuses espèces viennent s’installer dans la châtaigneraie (chênes, frênes, noisetiers) qui était encore exploitée il y a 50 ans. "Vers Chadenet, il s'est coupé des arbres pour le tanin, ça a été coupé avant la guerre de 14. Mon père y a travaillé à descendre le bois avec des bœufs. Ils étaient quatre ou cinq, chacun menait sa paire de bœufs. Ils descendaient ça par le chemin jusqu'à la Pontèze".

lire la suite
Agriculture

La chèvrerie Gautier

Yolande et Christian gèrent une petite exploitation agricole qui proposent des fromages de chèvre fermier. C’est un produit typiquement cévenol. Le troupeau est constitué de 60 chèvres laitières de race alpine et tout le lait est transformé en fromage fermier sur place. De fin novembre jusqu’à fin avril, c’est la pause pour les chèvres, qui doivent nourrir leurs petits chevreaux !

lire la suite
Histoire

Château d’Arigès

Il apparaît à gauche, dans une trouée forestière. Il n’est, en 1658, qu’une métairie dont les maisons sont en ruines lorsque l’achète le seigneur d’Issenges. Il l’habitera dès 1688. Ce château sans doute plus confortable que la « maison carrée », est bâti dans un méandre du Tarn et entouré de terres riches prêtant bien aux cultures.

lire la suite

Description

Départ au dessus du village de vacances du Pont du Tarn (Florac, quartier d’Azinières) ou  sur la place de la salle des fêtes de Bédouès (prendre la RD 998 en direction de Florac et au croisement tournée à droite vers la Baume prendre, puis au pont de fer tourner à gauche pour récupérer le sentier balisé). Du parking au dessus du village de vacances, rejoindre la route (chemin d'Yssenges) et poursuivre à gauche par la route jusqu’à la piste. Le sentier suit la piste principale dont il coupe un lacet. Au croisement suivant, suivre la piste sur la droite. Au col d’Issenge, descendre  à droite sur la piste principale et emprunter un petit sentier à gauche pour passer à Chadenet.  À  Chadenet, descendre par la ruelle et prendre le chemin à droite. Dans la descente, l’itinéraire coupe la piste et emprunte un petit sentier escarpé. Arrivé en bas, le chemin se poursuit à droite par une route qui traverse le camping et se poursuit par le chemin qui surplombe le Tarn. (Au pont de Fer, si vous êtes parti de Bédouès, prendre à gauche, passer le pont de fer, puis encore à gauche pour rejoindre le parking de la salle des fêtes de Bédouès) ; sinon pour rejoindre le village de vacances, continuer tout droit sur la route puis le chemin jusqu’à Azinières; Prendre la route en face pour rejoindre le Pont du Tarn.

Départ : Pont du Tarn et Bédouès
Arrivée : Pont du Tarn et Bédouès
Communes traversées : Florac, Bédouès, Les Bondons, Cocurès

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Refermez bien les clôtures et les portillons.


Lieux de renseignement

Maison du tourisme et du Parc national, Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

info@cevennes-parcnational.fr

04 66 45 01 14

La Maison du tourisme et du Parc national des Cévennes est installée dans le bâtiment renové de l'ancienne gare en bordure de la N106. C'est un espace , d’accueil, d'information et de sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte du territoire, ainsi que sur les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc, mutualisé entre les équipes de l'office de tourisme et du Parc.
Une expo interactive présente le Parc national des Cévennes et ses actions. 

Sur place :  Une boutique, librairie découverte et  produits siglés PNC.
Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner sur les jours et horaires en saison hivernale).
En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis Florac, RD 998, direction Bédouès

Stationnement :

Parking au-dessus du Village de vacances du Pont du Tarn ou Parking de la salle des fêtes de Bédouès

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :