Saint-Guiral
>>
Home
>
Hiking on foot
>
Saint-Guiral
Dourbies

Saint-Guiral

History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline
This is an athletic hike to the summit of St-Guiral, a granite block field with exceptional views.

2 points of interest

  • History

    Dourbies

    The village of Dourbies was built on a ridge to maximise the flatter soils for cultivation. Farming having declined in the valley, fields that were once cultivated have now been urbanised, and broom heath is invading more and more land.
  • History

    St Guiral summitSt

    Three brothers from the Roquefeuil family were in love with the same young woman. Since she was unable to choose, she bid them join the crusade, promising her heart to the bravest. The years passed, and in the songs transmitted by the troubadours there was no mention of the three knights. The young woman was slowly consumed by grief. With all hope gone, she died. In the cortège following her coffin to the cemetery, the three victorious brothers appeared. Filled with sadness and grief, they decided to live as hermits, each on a mountain top (Saint-Guiral, Saint-Loup and Saint-Alban). And each year they commemorated the cruel loss by lighting huge fires … (Isabelle Magos, Le Guide des Cévennes).

Description

Signposts will guide you all along this route. In the description below, the signposted place names and/or directions are given in bold italics between quotation marks:

Start at "Dourbies-Église". Make for "Saint-Guiral" via "La Clède", "La Croix de Lagrinier", "La Rouvière", "Ressançon", "Combe d'Ardenne". At "Combe d'Ardenne" take the track on the right towards "Le Pradarel", then climb to "Roquefeuillet" to reach the foot of Saint-Guiral. Here you can climb to the summit (there and back). Then return to "Dourbies" via "Sous St Guiral", "l'Abri de St Guiral". Just before the shelter, take the path on the right to "La Grandesc Basse", "Montredon", "La Clède".

This walk is taken from the guidebook Massif de l’Aigoual, published by the communauté de communes Causses Aigoual Cévennes as part of the collection Espaces naturels gardois and the label Gard Pleine Nature.
  • Departure : Dourbies, on the Place de l'Eglise (church square)
  • Arrival : Dourbies, on the Place de l'Eglise (church square)
  • Towns crossed : Dourbies, Trèves, Saint-Jean-du-Bruel, Sauclières, Alzon

Altimetric profile


Recommandations

Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.
Is in the midst of the park
The national park is an unrestricted natural area but subjected to regulations which must be known by all visitors.

Information desks

Tourism & national parc'house

Col de la Serreyrède, 30570 Val d'Aigoual

https://www.sudcevennes.com

office-du-tourisme-causse@wanadoo.fr

04 67 82 64 67

The Maison de l'Aigoual houses the tourism office Mont Aigoual Causses Cévennes and the Maison du Parc national. This visitor centre provides information on and raises awareness of the Cévennes National Park, its sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

On site: changing exhibitions, video projections, Festival Nature events and shop Open year-round

Find out more

Transport

liO is the regional public transport service of the Occitanie/ Pyrénées – Méditerranée region. It facilitates everyone’s movements by prioritising public transport. For more information, call 08 10 33 42 73 or go to www.laregion.fr

Access and parking

From L'Espérou on the D151.

Parking :

Place de l'Eglise (church square)

More information


Source

CC Causses Aigoual Cévennes Terres Solidaireshttp://www.caussesaigoualcevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/
Pôle Nature Aigoual

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Saint-Guiral
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Saint-Guiral
Dourbies

Saint-Guiral

Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Randonnée sportive vous permettant d'atteindre le pic de St Guiral, chaos granitique d'où la vue panoramique est exceptionnelle.

Les 2 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire

Dourbies

Le village de Dourbies a été édifié sur une crête afin d'utiliser au maximum les terrains les plus plats pour les cultures. Aujourd'hui, l'agriculture ayant périclité dans cette vallée, des champs autrefois cultivés ont été urbanisés et les landes à genêts envahissent de plus en plus l'espace.

lire la suite
Histoire

Pic de Saint-Guiral

Trois frères de la famille de Roquefeuil étaient amoureux de la même jeune fille. Mais celle-ci ne parvenait pas à faire son choix. Aussi, leur enjoignit-elle de participer à la croisade : le plus valeureux aurait son cœur et l'épouserait. Les années passent, et dans les chants que rapportent les troubadours, jamais il n'est question des trois chevaliers. La jeune fille, doucement, se consume d'un chagrin mortel. Sans plus d'espoir, elle se laissa mourir. Dans le cortège suivant son corps vers le cimetière apparaissent alors les trois frères vainqueurs. Emplis de tristesse et de chagrin, ils décident de vivre en ermites, chacun au sommet d'une montagne (Le Saint-Guiral, le Saint-Loup et le Saint-Alban). Et chaque année, en souvenir du jour funeste, ils allument un braiser … (Isabelle Magos « le guide des Cévennes »)
lire la suite

Description

Le long de l'itinéraire, des poteaux directionnels vous guident. Les noms des lieux-dits et/ou des directions à suivre sont indiqué(e)s en italique gras et entre guillemets dans le descriptif ci-dessous:

Départ à "Dourbies-Église". Puis prendre direction "Saint-Guiral", par "La Clède", "La Croix de Lagrinier", "La Rouvière", "Ressançon", "Combe d'Ardenne". À "Combe d'Ardenne" prendre la piste sur votre droite direction "Le Pradarel", puis montée sur "Roquefeuillet", et arrivée au pieds de Saint-Guiral. Possibilité de montée au sommet (allée/retour). Puis retour sur "Dourbies" par "Sous St Guiral", "l'Abri de St Guiral". Juste avant l'abri prendre le sentier à droite direction "La Grandesc Basse", "Montredon", "La Clède".

Balade extraite du cartoguide Massif de l’Aigoual, réalisé par la Communauté de communes Causses Aigoual Cévennes dans le cadre de la Collection Espaces Naturels Gardois et du label Gard Pleine Nature.

Départ : Dourbies, place de l'église
Arrivée : Dourbies, place de l'église
Communes traversées : Dourbies, Trèves, Alzon

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.
En coeur de parc
Le Parc national est un territoire naturel, ouvert à tous, mais soumis à une réglementation qu’il est utile de connaître pour préparer son séjour

Lieux de renseignement

Maison du tourisme et du Parc national des Cévennes, La Serreyrède

Col de la Serreyrède, 30570 Val d'Aigoual

https://www.sudcevennes.com

office-du-tourisme-causse@wanadoo.fr

04 67 82 64 67

La Maison de l'Aigoual abrite l'office de tourisme Mont Aigoual Causses Cévennes et la maison du Parc national. C'est un espace d’accueil, d'information et de sensibilisation sur le Parc national des Cévennes et ses actions, sur l'offre de découverte et d'animation ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc.
Sur place : expositions temporaires, animations au départ du site et boutique

En savoir plus
Accessibilité :
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite sur les trois niveaux du bâtiment (ascenseur)

Transport

liO est le Service Public Occitanie Transports de la Région Occitanie/Pyrénées-Méditerranée. Il permet à chacun de se déplacer facilement en privilégiant les transports en commun. lio.laregion.fr


Accès routiers et parkings

Depuis L'Espérou par la RD 151

Stationnement :

Place de l'église

En savoir plus


Source

CC Causses Aigoual Cévennes Terres Solidaireshttp://www.caussesaigoualcevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/
Pôle Nature Aigoual

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :