Puech d'Alluech
Mas-Saint-Chély

Puech d'Alluech

Fauna and flora
Forest
History and culture
Embed this item to access it offline
A Causse atmosphere between dolines and sheep pasture, alternating with wooded areas. The highpoint of this walk is to climb Le Puech d’Alluech, a volcanic peak with 360° views.

3 points of interest

  • History

    Woods and deforestation

    Afforestation and deforestation seem to be the fate of the Causse landscape. In the Neolithic, the first farmer-shepherds settled on the fertile areas of the plateaux, which were covered by beech and oak forest at the time. This lead to the forest being cleared for sheep pasture and for farmland. With demographic expansion, deforestation accelerated and the cultivated areas expanded. Subsequently, the local potteries, lime kilns and, later, mines brought about a new wave of deforestation to satisfy their need for wood.
  • Fauna

    Larks !

    There are plenty of larks at Puech d’Alluech! Chirping away in the bushes, cheeping in the fields – real chatterboxes! The greater short-toed lark that comes back from Africa in the spring; or the sedentary woodlark; or else the skylark, which appreciates open spaces. Topped by its relay mast, the Puech d’Alluech dominates the surroundings from its 1,151 m. It is a former volcano. Climb to the top for views over the mountains of the Aubrac, the Truc de Fortunio summit in Margeride, and the Mont Lozère massif. Turn south to see Mont Aigoual crowned by its relay masts.
  • History

    Camin Ferrat

    Cabrières means “place inhabited by goats”. Located on the Languedoc draille (drovers’ road) and the Camin Ferrat, Cabrières was long uninhabited but is now home to one family. Camin Ferrat comes from the Occitan camin, track, and férra, oxshoe. Paved or cobbled tracks needed draft and pack animals to be shod. This ancient path is parallel to the draille, which is even older. For safety reasons, pedestrians, flocks and carts used to use different routes. The Camin Ferrat crosses the Causse and goes down to Meyrueis.

Description

From the car park, take the track and, at the intersection, turn right. Your hike starts on the Causse Méjean circuit (yellow and red waymarks). Follow this path through the rolling countryside part to the foot of Puech d’Alluech.
  1. Just before you get to the road, take the track on the left that goes uphill to the top of Puech d’Alluech (there-and-back 2.6 km). On your return, take the road on the left for 150 m, then take the track on the left that cuts across and joins the road, to the hamlet of Chamblon.
  2. In Chamblon, pass below the sheepfold, go uphill towards the house, continue straight ahead to cut across the road and take the path opposite that joins the road to Prunets.
  3. In Prunets, leave the GR®60 trail that veers off to the right, and instead take the track on the left that passes below the houses. The track climbs; at the top, leave it on the right to go back down towards the trees. You are walking around the Puech.
  4. At the crossroads, continue straight ahead and, as you arrive in the hamlet of Cabrières, walk around it on the left instead, alongside a large basin.
  5. After the hamlet of Cabrières, take the road that goes uphill on the left for 700 m.
  6. At the crossroads, take the track that runs alongside the telephone cable to return to your starting-point.
  • Departure : 1 km from Mas St-Chély
  • Arrival : 1 km from Mas St-Chély
  • Towns crossed : Mas-Saint-Chély and Gorges du Tarn Causses

Forecast


Altimetric profile


Recommandations

You are advised not to bring dogs (flocks with guard dogs)
A walk that is accessible for everyone but with little shade. You cross several fences (gates or stiles): close them well. . Make sure your equipment is appropriate for the day’s weather conditions. Remember that the weather changes quickly in the mountains. Take enough water, wear sturdy shoes and put on a hat. Please close all gates and barriers behind you.

Information desks

Tourism'house and national Parc at Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.cominfo@cevennes-parcnational.fr04 66 45 01 14

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

On site:  exhibitions, video projections, events and shop Open year-round

Find out more

Tourism office Cévennes Gorges du Tarn, Sainte-Enimie

village, 48210 Sainte-Enimie

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com/info@attractivite-tourisme-gcc.com04 66 45 01 14

This office is part of the National Park's associated tourist-information network, whose mission is to provide information on, and raise awareness of, the sites and events as well as the rules that must be observed in the National Park's central zone.

Find out more

Transport

Bus stop: Mas-Saint-Chély
  • Bus line 259 "Mende – Sainte-Enimie - Meyrueis”
https://lio.laregion.fr/

Access and parking

From Mas Saint-Chély drive towards Prunets/Chaldas. After 1 km, car park by the intersection with a track.

Parking :

1 km from Mas St-Chély on the road to Prunets/Chaldas: departure panel on the left at the intersection of the tracks.

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Puech d'Alluech
>>
Accueil
>
Rando à pied
>
Puech d'Alluech
Mas-Saint-Chély

Puech d'Alluech

Faune et flore
Forêt
Histoire et culture
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Ambiance caussenarde entre dolines et parcours à moutons en alternance avec des parties boisées. Le « clou » de cette randonnée reste l’ascension du Puech d’Alluech, sommet volcanique avec sa vue à 360°.

Les 3 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire

Entre bois et déboisement.

Boisement et déboisement semblent être la destinée du paysage caussenard. Au néolithique, les premiers bergers agriculteurs s’établissent sur les zones fertiles des plateaux alors couverts de forêts de hêtres et de chênes. Leur installation entraîne le défrichement de la forêt dans le but d’obtenir des parcours destinés aux ovins et des terres cultivables. Lié aux poussées démographiques, le défrichement de la forêt s’accentue et les parties cultivées s’étendent. Puis les besoins en bois pour l’industrie de la poterie, des fours à chaux et plus tard, de l’exploitation minière, entraînent une nouvelle vague de défrichements.
lire la suite
Faune

Alouettes! Ou Alluech!

C’est plein d’alouettes au Puech d’Alluech ! Tout ce petit monde piaille de partout dans les buissons, pépie dans les champs…. de vraies pipelettes ! C’est le mont des alouettes ou alors, Gargantua qui, frissonnant de la langue, prononça « Alluech » au lieu d’alouette. L’alouette calandrelle qui revient d’Afrique au printemps, ou la sédentaire alouette lulu ou encore l’alouette des champs qui apprécie les milieux ouverts. Surmonté de son relais, le Puech d’Alluech domine à 1151 mètres. C’est un ancien volcan. Grimpez sur son sommet pour la vue sur les monts d’Aubrac, le truc de Fortunio en Margeride, le territoire du mont Lozère. Tournez-vous vers le sud pour apercevoir le mont Aigoual, coiffé de ses antennes-relais.
lire la suite
Histoire

Camin Ferrat

Cabrières signifie « lieu hanté par les chèvres ». Longtemps inhabité, positionné sur la draille du Languedoc et le Camin Ferrat, Cabrières est aujourd'hui habité par une famille. Camin Ferrat vient de l'occitan « camin », chemin et « férra », fer à bœuf. Les chemins dallés ou pavés exigeaient le ferrage des animaux de trait ou de bât. Le tracé de ce chemin antique est parallèle à la draille, plus ancienne. En effet, pour des raisons de sécurité, les piétons, troupeaux et charrois suivaient des voies différentes. Il traverse le causse et descend à Meyrueis.
lire la suite

Description

Depuis le parking, prendre la piste et au croisement des chemins, prendre à droite. La randonnée débute sur le tour du causse Méjean (balisage jaune et rouge). Suivre le chemin sur cette partie vallonnée jusqu’au pied du Puech d’Alluech.
1- Juste avant d’arriver sur la route prendre à gauche le chemin qui grimpe vers le sommet du Puech d’Alluech (aller-retour 2,6 km). Au retour, prendre la route à gauche sur 150 m, puis à gauche, le chemin qui coupe et rejoint la route jusqu’au hameau de Chamblon.
2 –À Chamblon, passer sous la bergerie, monter vers l’habitation, continuer tout droit pour couper la route et prendre le sentier en face qui rejoint la route vers Prunets.
3 – À Prunets, laisser le GR®60 qui part à droite, pour prendre le chemin à gauche qui passe sous les maisons. La piste monte ; en haut laisser le chemin sur la droite et redescendre vers le boisement. On contourne le Puech.
4 – Au croisement, continuer tout droit, et en arrivant vers le hameau de Cabrières, on le contourne par la gauche en longeant une large cuvette.
5 – Après le hameau Cabrières, prendre la route sur la gauche qui monte sur 700 m.
6- Au croisement, prendre le chemin qui longe la ligne téléphonique pour revenir à votre point de départ.
Départ : À 1 km de Mas St-Chély
Arrivée : À 1 km de Mas St-Chély
Communes traversées : Mas-Saint-Chély, Sainte-Enimie

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Un sentier accessible à tous, pas très ombragé. Plusieurs passages de clôtures (portails ou échelle) : bien refermer. Les chiens sont déconseillés (troupeaux et chiens de protection). Adaptez votre équipement aux conditions météo du jour. N'oubliez pas que le temps change vite en montagne. Pensez à emporter de l'eau en quantité suffisante, de bonnes chaussures et un chapeau. Bien refermer les clôtures et les portillons.

Lieux de renseignement

Maison du tourisme et du Parc national, Florac

Place de l'ancienne gare, N106, 48400 Florac-trois-rivières

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

info@cevennes-parcnational.fr

04 66 45 01 14

La Maison du tourisme et du Parc national des Cévennes est installée dans le bâtiment renové de l'ancienne gare en bordure de la N106. C'est un espace , d’accueil, d'information et de sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte du territoire, ainsi que sur les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc, mutualisé entre les équipes de l'office de tourisme et du Parc.
Une expo interactive présente le Parc national des Cévennes et ses actions. 

Sur place :  Une boutique, librairie découverte et  produits siglés PNC.
Ouvert toute l'année (se renseigner sur les jours et horaires en saison hivernale).
En savoir plus

Office de tourisme Cévennes Gorges du Tarn, Sainte-Enimie

village, 48210 Sainte-Enimie

https://www.cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com/

contact@cevennes-gorges-du-tarn.com

04 66 45 01 14

Les relais d'information sont des offices de tourisme ou sites partenaires du Parc national des Cévennes, qui ont pour mission l'information et la sensibilisation sur l'offre de découverte et d'animations ainsi que les règles à adopter en cœur de Parc. 

Ouvert toute l'année, de novembre à fin-mars, accueil les lundi, mercredi et vendredi

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

De Mas Saint-Chély prendre la direction de Prunets, Chaldas, intersection de piste à 1 km, parking

Stationnement :

A 1 km de Mas St-Chély sur la route de Prunets, Chaldas :, panneau de départ sur votre gauche à l’intersection des pistes.

Source

CC Gorges Causses Cévenneshttps://www.gorgescaussescevennes.fr/
Parc national des Cévenneshttp://www.cevennes-parcnational.fr/

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :